Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (BMUB)

On 6 June 1986 the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety was established. Since then it has been responsible within the Federal Government for (lead-managing) national environmental policy.

The Federal Environment Ministry's sphere of responsibility also embraces three federal agencies: the Federal Environmental Agency (Umweltbundesamt), the Federal Agency for Nature Conservation (Bundesamt für Naturschutz) and the Federal Office for Radiation Protection (Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz). The ministry also receives advice in the form of statements and expert opinions from several independent expert bodies. The principal advisory bodies are the Council of Environmental Advisors (Rat von Sachverständigen für Umweltfragen) and the Advisory Council on Global Change (Wissenschaftlicher Beirat Globale Umweltveränderungen).